Swedish Dances

Swedish Dances


Click the links below to hear the movements in the suite.

4th movement
6th movement

SKU: FM393 Categories: ,


Two Flutes and Piano – These dances were first published in 1892 for violin and piano, although Bruch later arranged them for solo piano, and also for orchestra. The slow, stately introduction leads in to seven dances in volume one, each a charming character study. Individual movements are dramatic, then tranquil; dance-like then reflective. The third, fifth and seventh movements have the feeling of folk-dances, while the others are more lyrical and expressive. Structurally the pieces are fairly simple, with melody sections flowing in to each other. Some ideas are developed into links and codas. In this arrangement, both players share the melodic material fairly evenly. Each has a solo movement to play, with the other movements featuring call and answer moments, harmony sections and contrapuntal elements to enjoy. Technically quite advanced, with the first flute covering the whole range of the instrument, these gems of pieces are well worth working on.

Additional information




Select an Option



Robert Rainford


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Swedish Dances”
Go to Top