Suite for Piano

Suite for Piano


Click the links below to see and hear the movements in the Suite.

1. Toccata Burlesca
2. Toccata Leggiera
3. Elegy
4. Finale: Fugato

SKU: FM1072 Category:


I wrote my Suite for Piano in about 1995. Having written for a variety of instrumental combinations and ensembles, I wanted to have a few short solo pieces of my own that I could play if someone asked ‘what does your music sound like?’.
There are four movements. The first two are ‘toccatas’, a name given by Baroque composers to pieces designed to show off a performer’s fast finger work. Toccata Burlesca is playful in a robust, energetic way, while Toccata Leggiera is like a ‘moto perpetuo’ with constantly flowing rapid notes. Elegy is a slow, thoughtful contrast to these more showy pieces, with a sad lyrical melody which rises to a passionate climax before fading away in the closing bars. The finale is entitled ‘Fugato’ and marked ‘giocoso’ (joyful), and it is a happy, celebratory piece with dancing melodic lines that weave in and out of each other before building to the final climax of the whole piece.

Additional information



Select an Option



Go to Top