Holberg Suite Opus 40

Holberg Suite Opus 40


Available for digital download

SKU: FM033 Categories: ,


This is a complete transcription of Grieg’s famous Holberg Suite. The layout is designed to be as flexible as possible. It is possible to perform this work with a lineup of piccolo, 4 flutes and two alto flutes, for groups who do not have access to the larger instruments. This piece is in 5 movements: Praelude, Sarabande, Gavotte and Musette, Air and Rigaudon. The praelude requires long sections of fast tonguing from all players, and flute one in general needs a player of about grade 8 standard, but the lower parts are much more accessible. The differing characters of each movement make the while piece well worth working on, and this piece has gone down well in our local flute choir concerts.

Additional information




Robert Rainford


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Holberg Suite Opus 40”
Go to Top