Suite 2


Click the links below to see and hear the pieces in the suite.

1. Simon Chachava
2. Early Morning
3. Promenade
4. Ballade
5. On The Highway
6. Journey Through the Forest
7. Ragtime

SKU: FM1178 Category:


Bertolt Brecht’s ‘The Caucasian Chalk Circle’ (1944) inspired the first movement of this suite and his ‘Mother Courage and Her Children: A Chronicle of the 30 Years’ War’ (1939) inspired movements 2 to 7. In his younger days, Charles Hine was an active member of West Kent Youth Theatre Workshop which presented The Caucasian Chalk Circle in 1968, when Charles was 17 and a pupil at Skinners’ School Tunbridge Wells. In 1971, the Workshop presented Mother Courage and Her Children. As Musical Director for both touring productions, Charles composed his own musical accompaniments in preference to the scores by Dessau. Charles also appeared on stage in Chalk Circle playing clarinet as one of Arkada Tsheidse’s musicians. This instrumental suite demonstrates the contrast between drama and comedy in Brecht’s writing. With music originally composed by Charles in 1968 and 1971, the piano accompaniment was realised by Phil Toms from the original manuscript sketches under direction of the composer in 2022.
1. Simon Chachava – In ‘The Caucasian Chalk Circle’, Chachava is a foot soldier in love with Grusha, a servant girl. This moving and dramatic song recalls the character’s story, with a delicate recitative followed by a return to the melancholy main theme.   2. Early Morning – A slow waltz with hints of Satie and Shostakovich.
3. Promenade – A lyrical melody with simple accompaniment, not to be played heavily.
4. Ballade – Dreamy and atmospheric, this twisting and angular melody shifts through pivot chords and mysterious harmonies to great effect.
5. On the Highway – The brief but lilting melody is reminiscent of 17th century folk tunes played by wandering minstrels.
6. Journey through the Forest – A post-classical rippling arpeggio accompaniment provides tension to this angular and dramatic movement.
7. Ragtime – With a nod to Scott Joplin, this ragtime uses traditional syncopated rhythms and a stride piano style to bring the suite to a close. The lively opening should not encourage rushing of the main theme.  

Additional information



Phil Toms


Select an Option



Go to Top