Clarinet Concerto No. 1

Clarinet Concerto No. 1


Click the links below to see and hear each movement.

1st Movement
2nd Movement
3rd Movement

SKU: FM1033 Category:


Ambidexterity Clarinet Concerto No 1

Written for the clarinettist Leslie Craven this concerto became a favourite of his and of his audiences. Premiered by Leslie Craven and the Vale of Glamorgan Ensemble at Ewenny Priory this concerto received excellent reviews and was mentioned in several specialist magazines.

1st Movement. The first movement is lively and spontaneous. It darkens to a beautiful ethereal section where the clarinet sings. The optional cadenza showcases the technique and variety of the clarinets colours and contains some virtuosic passages. The final phrases mirror those of the third movement.

2nd Movement EBONY   This movement is a poignant lament embellished with swooping flamboyant arpeggios. The haunting melodic lines develop into emotional outpourings that ultimately find peace and tranquillity.

3rd Movement AMBIDEXTERITY   The subtitle gives the entire concerto its name. Originally a solo piece this became the finale of the first concerto. It was nicknamed a TARANTAJIG or a JIGATELLA by Leslie Craven. It has a jazzy blend of Irish and Italian dance.

Additional information



Select an Option



Go to Top